What Happens When You Become a Mother…Or Not?

I constantly see these posts and articles about ‘What Happens When You Become a Mother’.  They usually come with all these horrors and nonsense that throw non-parents off.

So what REALLY happens when you become a parent?

It’s different for everyone.  That’s right, I said it.  It’s never the same.

Sure there’s some common aspects like less sleep, and not having as much time for yourself.  But I’m talking about more uncommon things.  Like doing your laundry for example.

I used to always be on top of laundry (even when I first had my daughter).  I’d wash them all on the weekends, dry, fold, and put them away all in a day or two.  Almost always without fail.  Now I’m lucky if my laundry ever even sees the closet or dresser.  It usually  just goes from the laundry basket to the washer and dryer then back to the laundry basket to reside till it’s worn or washed again because I forgot whether it’s clean or dirty.

I’m also more health conscious than I used to be whereas some go from that awesome top-of-the-line health freak to ‘Hunny, what’d you do with that last box of mac and cheese?!  Tommy is crying and hungry!’

So if you ever get thrown off when you see those things and you’re a non-parent, don’t worry!  It’s typically not the same for everyone.

With love

PE

2 thoughts on “What Happens When You Become a Mother…Or Not?

  1. I’m more health conscious now but still apt to occasionally call out in search of the boxed meals! I try to minimize it, but sometimes life gets in the way of my plans. Thanks to parenthood, I’ve learned to be much more comfortable rolling with it. 🙂

    Like

    • Haha me too! Sometimes I’m just so exhausted it’s like well it isn’t going to kill ya, and I’m way too tired so screw it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

