Crunch, Crunch, Crunch

Speaking with a friend of mine got me thinking (scary thought huh?)

She and I were talking about what we bring for lunch.  I was saying how I need to find more things I can bring for lunch [that are healthy and still able to sit in a locker for 4 hours before being eaten].

She mentioned that she brings a bag of sun chips, “healthy chips” as she refers to them as, every day.

When she said this I kind of wanted to chuckle a bit because when I think of chips (processed, not home made and even home made can be made unhealthy) I don’t think healthy that’s for sure.  Don’t get me wrong though, I love chips but I’ve cut back on them for a while even though lately I’ve been finding myself stuck in a Pringles rut.

I got to thinking and thought “huh, I wonder if there is a healthy chip out there?  Which brand is the healthiest?” and then I thought “oh my god, that’s a perfect research topic for my blog!”

So here is my compiled list of five different commonly known chip brands and their nutrition facts:

bag of shunchips original multigrain snacks

For every ounce of sun chips original there are:

140 Calories

60 Calories from Fat

6g Total Fat

1g Saturated Fat

1g Polyunsaturated Fat

120mg Sodium

3g Dietary Fiber

2g Sugar

2g Protein

For every ounce of Doritos Cool Ranch there are:

150 Calories

70 Calories from Fat

8g Total Fat

1g Saturated Fat

180mg Sodium

2g Dietary Fiber

Less than 1g Sugar

2g Protein

TOSTITOS® Crispy Rounds Tortilla Chips

For every ounce of Tostito’s Crispy Rounds there are:

140 Calories

7g Total Fat

1g Saturated Fat

120mg Sodium

1g Dietary Fiber

NO SUGAR

2g Protein

CHEETOS® Crunchy Cheese Flavored Snacks

For every ounce of Crunchy Cheetos there are:

150 Calories

90 Calories from Fat

10g Total Fat

1.5g Saturated Fat

250mg Sodium

Less than 1 gram Dietary Fiber

1g Sugar

2g Protein

For every ounce of Kettle Brand Sour Cream and Onion Chips there are:

150 Calories

80 Calories from Fat

9g Total Fat

1g Saturated Fat

1g Polyunsaturated Fat

7g Monounsaturated Fat

150mg Sodium

400mg potassium

1g Dietary Fiber

1g Sugar

2g Protein

 

So who’s the healthiest?

Least Calories: Sun Chips Original & Tostito’s Crispy Rounds TIE!

Least Calories From Fat: Sun Chips Original takes it!

Least Grams of Fat: Sun Chips Original takes it, again!

Least Grams of Saturated, Polysaturated, and Monosaturated Fat: Doritos Cool Ranch and Tostito’s Crispy Rounds TIE!

Least MG of Sodium: Sun Chips Original and Tostito’s Crispy Rounds TIE AGAIN!

Highest Grams of Dietary Fiber: Sun Chips takes it for a third time!

Least Grams of Sugar: Tostito’s Crispy Rounds takes it!

Highest Grams of Protein: They all TIED!

In case you weren’t keeping track, the healthiest of these five is SUN CHIPS ORIGINAL!  Sun Chips original won by ONE point over Tostito’s Crispy Rounds, close call!

 

Who’s the unhealthiest then?

Highest in Calories: Kettle Brand Sour Cream and Onion, Doritos Cool Ranch, and Crunchy Cheetos all TIE.

Highest Calories From Fat: Crunchy Cheetos.

Highest in Fat: Crunchy Cheetos.

Highest in Saturated, Polysaturated, and Monosaturated Fats: Kettle Brand Sour Cream and Onion.

Highest in Sodium: Crunchy Cheetos.

Lowest in Dietary Fiber: Crunchy Cheetos.

Highest in Sugar: Sun Chips Original

No need to count protein as they all have the same amount.

If you weren’t keeping track, Crunchy Cheetos takes the award for unhealthiest by a landslide!

 

I thought it was pretty interesting that out of these five, Sun Chips were the healthiest!  I usually put all processed chips on the same pedestal.  I also wouldn’t have thought that the kettle chips wold be fairly unhealthy since I’ve always heard kettle chips are much better for you, plus not to mention it says “naturally” right there on every package!

What do you think of these results?

What’s your favorite chip brand/type?

You learn something new every day,

PE

Leave a Reply

