Planning a Speech or Speaking Engagement

I’ve always admired public speakers.  It’s fascinated me how they can just talk about whatever it is they’re talking about.  Now, I love talking, but talking for a planned speaking engagement is different.  You have to captivate your audience, you’re crunched for time (all while you have a million things you HAVE to say, or want to say really badly), you have to get your message across, etc.

It was either Freshmen or Sophomore year of high school.  We had a motivational speaker come to our school and the whole school was excused from class to go listen to this person.  Ask me what it was he actually talked about, I can’t tell you even an inkling.  But, what I can tell you is that’s when the seed was planted in my heart/head that I wanted to become a speaker.  I wanted to be speaking in my school’s field house just like that man.  Thus the reason I’ve pursued my career, and went out on a limb by e-mailing my old principal proposing my idea.

Now that I’m here planning my first speaking engagement AND speech, I have my work cut out for me.  There’s so much planning that comes into these things.  Since it’s my first time, I don’t know exactly what to expect, or how to plan for it but I’m trying my best!

I give a lot of credit to other public speakers out there.  They do a lot of hard work that probably goes unnoticed because they make it look so easy.

public speakers for the win

PE

Leave a Reply

