Asking for Help

I was working on a project for one of my classes and a paper for another when I realized something.

Back in high school (oh yeah less than 6 months ago ya know…that’s such a long time) when a teacher would hand me back a paper, or assignment with comments on it, if they weren’t positive I ignored them.  I hated being critiqued and I didn’t like asking for or receiving help.  Plus I felt like if I corrected those mistakes on the next assignment I was giving in to them and admitting I was wrong, and I used to have really big issues with admitting that I was wrong (I still do, but not as severe).

This past week I got a paper back from a professor with some helpful comments on it.  Some of which included things like, would be nice to have an intro and conclusion, more details, more examples, etc.  Normally I would hate that and toss it!  Now I’m in college, and guess what?  I take it like a big girl and improve on those mistakes!  It was my first college paper, so of course I’m going to have some things that need improvement.  We had another paper we had to write this week and you bet I made sure there was an intro and a conclusion, plus lots of examples with details!

You know how people say if a professor says something multiple times YOU BETTER REMEMBER IT BECAUSE IT’S IMPORTANT?  Yeah, this week was the first time that happened to me.

My professor was speaking about our first upcoming project that’s due this Monday.  He kept saying how if we wanted to we could send in a draft, even if it’s partially completed, to him and he would give us feedback.  He also stressed that almost all of his past students who did this received an A.  What did I do?  I started working on the project and set him a VERY rough draft and it was less than halfway completed.  He said I was going in the right direction and to keep doing what I was doing.  So I did.

He also stressed how much he would rather a student choose one part of a broad subject and go into great depth on it, rather than try and cover the WHOLE subject.  So what did I do?  I chose a smaller sub-topic of the subject I was covering and went into great depth on it.  Then I sent him my final draft so he could look it over one last time before I finalized it.  If I don’t get a good grade on this I will SCREAM! haha.

it’s okay to ask for and receive help

good luck to my fellow college students as they’re probably entering their first projects this week

PE

Leave a Reply

