No – People Will Never Approve of You

I’ve learned something the past few days.  Something I already knew but often forget because I have such amazing people in my life.

I am a single teen mother, as most of you know.  I get judged constantly for it.  I’d say I’m a pretty damn good mother and am doing my best – but what have I done wrong?

Here, I’ll make a list for you.

  1. I had sex and had a child before marriage.
  2. I had sex and had a child before receiving a complete education (high school & college)
  3. I have received forms of public assistance in order to complete my education, and get a job to get myself on my feet so I can become a productive member of society.
  4. I am getting financial aid to pay for college so I can better myself and my daughter’s lives.
  5. I send my daughter to daycare so that I can work and make a living.

But here’s the thing, and what makes me mad the most.

How do you expect me to take back having sex and having a child before marriage and having a complete education?  Sorry, but life doesn’t have a rewind button.  It just doesn’t – so stop holding that over my head.  You should be happy I’m taking steps to be a productive member of society.

How do you expect me to complete my education without going to school?  Sorry but childcare isn’t free – and don’t suggest online school because I DID try that.

Same thing, how do you expect me to get a job to start getting on my feet without GOING to work?

All I have to say for financial aid is that almost anyone who is able to receive it – uses it.  There’s nothing wrong with that.  Can you pay for college out of pocket?  No?  Exactly.

The last one is just too ridiculous for an explanation.

No matter what I do in life – I could cure cancer – I will ALWAYS be a failure to some people because of ONE thing I did with my at-the-time boy friend.

Thankfully I don’t rely on those people for approval of myself – I don’t rely on anyone for that.

I know I’m doing what I need to do to make a future for myself and my daughter.  Plus NEWSFLASH people I WORK – I PAY THE SAME TAXES AS YOU DO.  I’m paying for that public assistance just like all of you are.

PE

Leave a Reply

